iPad Post 4 of 4-Finale!

6 Aug

Glad to have the iPad series wrapping up and now maybe I can get to posting more frequently.

I am incredibly happy with my iPad.  That is the overall conclusion.  I never thought I would say this, but there are lots of times that I really am happy to have books in an e-reader format.  I love having several books at the ready, without taking up that much space.  I tend to buy a ridiculous amount of books, so it’s nice that I can buy the ones I only want to read once and not take up the valuable real estate of shelves in our home.  On that note, I believe a regular e-reader of any type would suffice for this.  The viewing quality is fantastic, but I have to admit to reading with a blanket over my head on the boat last weekend.  And I once overheated the iPad.  It was completely fine and just shut itself down.  I put it in a cool location and it was fine, when I picked it back up a few hours later.  I’m not sure if this problem exists with all ereaders.  Any thoughts?

I’ve heard great things about the Sony Reader Touch edition ($169.99 at Borders.com) and I have friends who really enjoy their Kindles.  So I believe those also to be smart purchases on the e-reading front.  As a matter of fact, my favorite app for downloading books is the Amazon Kindle app for iPad.  Easiest to use, best selection, no glitches so far.

I truly believe in my case an iPad was the best choice.  I didn’t want something primarily for the eReader purpose.  I wanted it for the apps.  Sounds simple enough, but that was the primary purchasing motivator.  Yet, now that I have it, I have found it useful for reading, FaceBooking, emailing, cooking, updating my blogs.  I really love the cooking apps and once propped up on a stand in the kitchen, it makes a stellar “cookbook”.  The kids now say “Did you make this with an iPad recipe?” and they’ve loved everything I’ve made from the iPad.  Epicurious is great, AllRecipes and Betty Crocker, also have apps that have made my time in the kitchen even better.

Apple has been great about releasing updates and the syncs have been seamless since I upgraded to SnowLeopard.  I have great fun editing photos with apps such as ColorSplash  and my friends have all commented how much they love my photo editing.

What do you think?  Does anyone have any other readers?  I’d love to hear your thoughts, opinions and why you will or won’t have an ereader.

Leave a comment